Purple Cap in IPL 2023: A Complete List of Purple Cap Winners from 2008-2022

Prepend to the content

The Purple Cap is a highly coveted award in the Indian Premier League (IPL), given to the bowler who takes the most wickets throughout the tournament. This award is a significant recognition of a player’s contribution to their team’s success and is eagerly anticipated by cricket fans around the world. The IPL is a top-tier professional Twenty20 cricket league in India that attracts the best cricket players from around the world. The 2023 IPL season is set to begin on March 31st, featuring ten teams battling it out for supremacy. The Purple Cap was introduced in the very first IPL season in 2008 and has since become an important symbol of excellence in bowling performance. Over the years, some of the biggest names in cricket, such as Lasith Malinga, have won the Purple Cap, cementing their place in IPL history.


List of all IPL Purple Cap Winners: From 2008 to 2022

Yuzvendra Chahal
Harshal Patel
Kagiso Rabada
Imran Tahir
Bhuvneshwar Kumar
Andrew Tye
Dwayne Bravo




Matches Wickets Average Economy Strike Rate 4W 5W
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal Rajasthan Royals 17 27 19.51 7.75 15.11 1 1
2021 Harshal Patel Royal Challengers Bangalore 15 32 14.34 8.14 10.56 1 1
2020 Kagiso Rabada Delhi Capitals 17 30 18.26 8.34 13.3 2 0
2019 Imran Tahir Chennai Super Kings 17 26 16.57 6.69 14.84 2 0
2018 Andrew Tye Kings XI Punjab 14 24 18.66 8 14 3 0
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 14 26 14.19 7.05 12 0 1
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar Sunrisers Hyderabad 17 23 21.3 7.42 17.2 1 0
2015 Dwayne Bravo Chennai Super Kings 17 26 16.38 8.14 12 0 0

Rules for IPL Purple Cap

The IPL Purple Cap is a prestigious award given to the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League tournament. The rules for awarding the Purple Cap are as follows:

  1. The bowler who has taken the most wickets in the tournament will be awarded the Purple Cap.
  2. If two or more bowlers have taken the same number of wickets, the bowler with a lower economy rate will be awarded the Purple Cap.
  3. If there is a tie in both wickets taken and economy rate, the bowler with a better bowling average will be awarded the Purple Cap.
  4. In case of a further tie, the bowler who has bowled the fewest overs will be awarded the Purple Cap.
  5. The leading wicket-taker will wear the Purple Cap throughout the tournament until another bowler overtakes him in the wicket-taking list.
  6. At the end of the tournament, the player who has won the Purple Cap will receive a special trophy and a cash prize.

These rules ensure that the Purple Cap is awarded fairly and accurately to the best-performing bowler in the tournament. It is a coveted award that recognizes the skill and performance of the bowlers in the IPL.

IPL Purple Cap Trivia

  • Dwayne Bravo, the T20 legend from West Indies, and Bhubaneshwar Kumar, the Indian seam-bowler, have both earned the most number of Purple Caps in the history of the IPL.
  • In the previous edition of the IPL, Harshal Patel claimed the crown for the most wickets taken by equalling the record with 32 wickets, which stands as the highest number of wickets taken by a bowler in a single edition of the tournament.
  • Sohail Tanvir holds the distinction of being the first winner of the IPL Purple Cap. He achieved this feat during the inaugural edition of the tournament. 


1) How the Purple Cap is awarded?

The Purple Cap is awarded to the leading wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League (IPL) tournament.

2) Who won the Purple Cap in the previous IPL season 2022?

Yuzvendra Chahal claimed the Purple Cap during the final match of the IPL 2022 season, which was contested between the Rajasthan Royals and the Gujarat Titans.

3) Can a player win the Purple Cap in consecutive IPL seasons?

Yes, a player can win the Purple Cap in consecutive IPL seasons if they manage to take the highest number of wickets in both seasons. 

4) What role do pitch conditions play in the Purple Cap race?

The pitch conditions in cricket can significantly impact the Purple Cap race. The nature of the pitch, such as its pace, bounce, and turn, can favour certain types of bowlers and make it easier or more difficult for them to take wickets. This means that bowlers need to be adaptable and able to adjust their strategies to the conditions they face in each match. 

5) Who holds the record for the most wickets in IPL history?

Dwayne Bravo has the record for taking the maximum wickets, which is 183. He has been a part of the Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Lions.

The post Purple Cap in IPL 2023: A Complete List of Purple Cap Winners from 2008-2022 appeared first on Pricebaba.com Daily.